Embraced  by  Truth . . .
                                    reflections on theology and life

EXEGESIS > New Testament > Gospels     


The four Gospels in the New Testament are Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, and the content of each is the earthly life and ministry of Jesus Christ. Together the books provide information related to His birth, baptism, temptations, teaching, miracles, death, burial, and resurrection. They are not ordinary biographies, but are designed to teach spiritual truth and bring an unbeliever to faith in Christ.

Three of the Gospels—Matthew, Mark, and Luke—are similar, and, therefore, are known as the Synoptic Gospels because much of their material overlaps (“Synoptics” is from syn, “together” and optic, “to see”; thus the Synoptics see things together, or they have the same viewpoint). The Gospel of John is decidedly different; even a casual reading reveals this to be true. The Synoptics are more factual, with John is devoted to more of the discourses of the Lord; the Synoptics begin with the earthly life, while John begins with His heavenly dwelling. The Synoptics deal with the Kingdom, and in John Jesus is teaching about Himself through the great “I Am” passages.

The word “Gospel” means “good news” or “glad tidings” and translates the Greek word euangelion which occurs 75 times in the New Testament and is used most often by Paul. In Scripture, especially the first four books of the New Testament, the Gospel is the message about the person and work of Christ. For this reason these four books are known as Gospels.





Return to New Testament

For overview of THEOLOGY, see: Site Map - Theology 

For overview of EXEGESIS, see: Site Map - Exegesis
Copyright © Embraced by Truth
All rights reserved.
Materials may be freely copied for personal and academic use;
appropriate reference must be made to this site.
Links are invited.